This page uses javascript. Please enable your browser's javascript.



The South Asia Alliance of Disaster Research Institutes (SAADRI) was formed at the Centre of Excellence in Disaster Mitigation and Management (CoEDMM), IIT Roorkee, India on 13th November 2020. On 6th November 2020 during the First Jai Krishna Memorial Lecture hosted by the CoEDMM, IIT Roorkee, the IIT Roorkee Director, Professor A K Chaturvedi announced the commencement of SAADRI in CoEDMM, IIT Roorkee. Other dignitaries present were Ms. Mami Mizutori, Assistant Secretary-General, UNDRR, Dr. P K Mishra, Sasakawa Laureate of UNDRR and Principal Secretary of PM of India, and 500 plus dignitaries & participants online. The SAADRI aims to deepen the understanding of disasters in the South Asia Region including climate change impact, learn from evidence-based lessons, investigate and resolve implementation challenges, to achieve better resilience, infrastructure and technology adoption systems, improved livelihood of people, and promote societal safety culture by integrating knowledge and technologies. At the formation stage SAADRI will start with members from 5 South Asian countries: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal and Sri Lanka. In addition, members from other countries are allowed to join too. The SAADRI Secretariat can be reached at and

SAADRI Program Advisors:

  • Professor B. Misra - Emeritus Professor, School of Planning and Architecture, New Delhi
  • Professor M. L. Sharma, Professor, Department of Earthquake Engineering and Joint Faculty at CoEDMM, IIT Roorkee

SAADRI Secretary-General:

  • Professor Mahua Mukherjee, Department of Architecture and Planning and Joint Faculty at CoEDMM, IITRoorkee

For more information, please visit webpage:

[ 12 January 2021  ]

News & Events

GADRI Lectures Series GADRI & Covid-19 Reports Disaster and Risk Research: GADRI Book Series Regional Alliances 6th Global Summit of GADRI: Engaging Science with Action Pamf2022